Yamas and Niyamas

About 6000 years ago an ancient Indian sage called Patanjali outlined an eight-step blueprint, that basically serve as guidelines on how to live a purposeful and meaningful life, showing us that Yoga is not only about the physical practice (asanas).

Yoga Sutra is the guidebook made up of 195 aphorisms (sutras), or words of wisdom. In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called ashtanga. ‘Ashtau’ means eight and ‘anga’ meaning limbs.

As soon as possible I will write a post about these eight limbs. Meanwhile, as some students usually ask me about the first two ones, I would like to share with you this interesting video about Yamas and Niyamas.

Hope you like it! Namaste!

2 thoughts on “Yamas and Niyamas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.